SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

I had the opportunity to purchase an SA-4000 MK2 with the British Mod. I'll be honest, I've never had the privilege of using a super nice bus compressor but I have been recording for over 15 years. This thing? It's ridiculously amazing. I was very impatient after 4 months and was emailing emailing emailing and you know what? You whiners out there who complain about Stam Audios customer service can seriously buzz off. Their CS reps got back to me religiously within a 24 hour period, oftentimes it being Josh himself. They answered questions, gave me updates and were very helpful! I was the one who was being annoying about my order and they dealt with my impatience like champions. Thank you for that Josh, Sori and company!!! Now back to the SA-4000 MK2- it's incredible. You can get some really versatile tones out of this, both transparent and abundantly obvious. The feeling of the unit is massive. It's heavy as hell, built like a tank and just feels expensive. The blend control is amazing for instant parallel compression. You can smash the drums and blend it in, gently raise the levels of guitar while smoothing out the sharp peaks, slap it across a half ass mix and it seriously instantly sounds better... It's really incredible. The British Mod gives some extension to the low end. It's subtle but there. When you hit it really hard is where the transformers shine- those big, red Carnhills, oh yes! I thoroughly enjoy this unit and could ramble on forever. Take it from someone who just recently started believing in analog gear. Bottom line is plug ins just don't cut it. Analog gear can take your good or crummy mixes and instantly polish them into something special, shiny and warm. You want this unit, you need this unit, you'll love this unit. Srsly. I want a Stamchild now...

Review By Shane N.

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

Bought a pair of these with the NOS option and as match pair. Well worth the wait. Dailing in the highs is a party. These is great on the masterbus. Really really nice

Review By Menno Bakker

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Potential customer here, intrigued by your products, I went fishing & found some pictures & video's on youtube, your facebook page of your workshop & people who work with you. May I suggest making your website more personable & include some of the behind the scenes work & the people involved etc. This will add confidence in buying your products, priced well as they are people also need to know what you have in stock & the wait times involved when placing a deposit. Cover these bases & grow your business with confidence from both sides of the equation my friend.

Review By Adam

SA-800 – Tube Condenser Microphone

Amazing mic with beautiful top end smoothness and overall clarity. For pop or anything modern this is probably the best mic I've tested and it's no surprise why so many stars prefer this mic.

Review By Eric L

SA-800 – Tube Condenser Microphone

This mic blew me away. Buttery smooth high end, clear mids, and round lows. Singing on it made my vocals sound instantly mixed. 💜

Review By David DiMuzio

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

[url=http://lexepro.com/]generic lexapro cost[/url]

Review By KiaFINLY

SA-800 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I have to say, I am seriously impressed with this mic! It is extremely quiet but also extremely responsive and it has a beautiful top end that doesn't sound harsh at all! Josh and the Stam team clearly take their time when building these mics and it shows when you put it to use. Very happy with the sound and I'm looking to grabbing a 251 next!

Review By Mike Snoody

SA-2A+ – Analog Tube Optical Compressor

Hey guys! Is the SA-2A+ already available? It says next batch is in march but we have may, so i was wondering if you just haven't updated the information yet? Would love to get me a unit. Kind regards!

Review By Henrik

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

After waiting for about (2) years, my pair of Stam Pultecs finally arrived!!!! And like most Stam Customers, it is always worth the wait! Let's start with how beastly and hefty these things are, I couldn't believe the nice weight it packs, and its not because of a thick chassis to make just believe its quality. No! its because of the fat transformers, tubes and outstanding quality components. I ordered the NOS Versions so the trannys there are pretty big. Lets get to the sound! most will tell you that it has great bass and awesome highs, some will go further and mention the creamy mids, but I will take it a bit further! While this EQ has great bass, I wouldn't call it big but more like tight and open. Highs are just beautiful but those mids boy! They are a punchy and a creamy. I am so glad I got a pair since Stam ended production. If you are in search of a great Pultec replica, be quick on Reverb because Stam Audio stuff does not last long in the secondary market and for great reason. They ALWAYS deliver great sounding quality pro audio gear and at a great price! Be on the look out on my YouTube Channel "Daniel Redd" for a Box Opening of the Stam Pultec EQ and a shootout between Stam EQP-1A, the Summit Audio EQP-200B and the A-Designs Hammer 2 EQ. Later, I will also shoot out the Stam EQP-1A against the A-Designs EMQ-2. This will be to show that Stam Audio is really in the league of "boutique" pro audio manufacturers, rather than entry level audio. Thank you so much to the Stam Audio Team for making truly amazing products at a phenomenal price. Stam Audio is truly the best!

Review By Daniel Redd

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

The SA47 is an excellent microphone. I have used it for over a year in a variety of situations, the sound quality is consistently fantastic. The microphone, mount and power supply are built very solidly- if expect they will provide a lifetime of use. One thing which is not mentioned- the cable provided is quite long, which allows for wonderful flexibility in positioning, especially in a larger space.

Review By Andrew

StamChild SA-670 – Stereo Analog Tube Compressor

Well, first off, due to a miscommunication about payment (which is as much my fault as anyone’s), it took me WAY longer to get my Stamchild than originally planned, so I had a LOT of time to build anticipation about it. That said, I’m going to leave this review as short and sweet as I can think to. I plan on making some videos showing off what the Stamchild can do, and you will hear future mixes done at Black Dog Recording ALL going through the Stamchild on my stereo bus, because it is without a doubt going to be on there for everything I mix! It’s UTTERLY ASTONISHING how good this piece sounds for the money. It’s built very well too! I have Crane Song Trakkers, an IGS TubeCore, drawmer 1987, and a UK Sound 276 to compliment my Trident 88 console, and there is not a single piece of gear on my rack that I am as blown away by as much as this! God forbid anything happen to it, it’d be instantly replaced with a new one. For this price point, it’s going to be damn near impossible to find anything with the euphonic fullness and depth this imparts, and there is just some indescribable “sparkle” it imparts without getting bright or harsh in ANY way. The first thing I thought when I ran a mix through it was, “Wow, that’s what a record should sound like!” Thanks Joshua and team! I’ll be eyeing more from you guys. Keep building stuff of this caliber!

Review By Peter Jacobs

SA-2A+ – Analog Tube Optical Compressor

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this limiter. Can anybody tell me how many rack spaces it takes?

Review By Dom

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

I just received my SA 4000 mk2 and it’s absolutely amazing it was a long process but definitely worth the wait I’ll definitely be buying more products from stam

Review By Jordan

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Amazing! Just blown away by this. Best mic I have ever owned. Well worth the money and I like supporting small companies and Josh is a great guy. Watch his interview. They really put effort into the details and appeal to us small studio owners

Review By Brian

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

Stam Audio hits one out of the park yet again. This time with their replica version of the venerable 1073 Mic Pre. Stam Audio held nothing back and provided us with Carnhill Input (I/P) Transformers (Trany), Sowter Output (O/P) Trany, the correct number of high quality Inductors (3) from Carnhill, High Quality Transistor and lastly, High Quality Circuit Components. All this led a Thick and Lucious sounding Mic Pre! Not only that, once you start driving the I/P this is where things get very interesting and complex. Turns out, when you start driving the I/P Knob past 50 and above, you start overdriving the signal causing beautiful rich sounding distortion and changing the original EQ Curve of the signal. But engage the EQ and now, you can start to shape the distortion of the distorted EQ Curve thus becoming a tone shaper. This is where the complexity kicks in because every I/P Dent past 50 delivers a slight different EQ Curve providing a plethora of tone shaping options when boosting. However, if you wish to clean up the enriched EQ Curve, when you attenuate, it'll always be the same type of cut curve no matter how distorted your EQ Curve may be. One last thing about the EQ, each High Pass (HP) Filter Freq has a different type of Filter which makes shaping the Bass Freqs very interesting and fun. None of this could've been accomplished had Josh and the team at Stam Audio not used top quality components throughout the entire device. Stam Audio definitely delivered a great sounding unit here without sacrifices. The 1073EQ has depth and warmth, and when you start Boosting the Upper Freqs, it does it effortlessly and with lush. And that bass! Man that bass! The best analogy I’ve come up with is when someone knocks at a heavy door. You hear the knock inside the house, but because it’s low freq transients, you also feel the knock slightly vibrate the room and walls. That’s the bass I got from Stam! It was rich and beautiful! What would I like to see in a MKII 1073EQ? First, I would like for the knobs to be flushed with the faceplate. Second, the addition of at least one or two more High Shelf Freqs, at least a 15K or 16K addition would be great. Next, a Post O/P Attenuator to also drive the gorgeous Sowter O/P Trany. Lastly, although I do like the current color, the gray knobs blend in too much with the faceplate. I'm thinking some sort of Charcoal Gray, Black of some sort of darker shade of the Slate Blue. Notice these are mostly cosmetic changes and additional features for additional value. The signal path is great as it is! In closing, I strongly believe that the only reason Stam Audio is compared to the Sub $1K brands is because of its price. You absolutely will not get close to the quality Stam Audio brings to the table. ALL Sub $1K brands will cut corners compromising the sound signature of a real 1073. Even if you Mod a Sub $1K Brand, it will always fall short of the Stam 1073EQ, let alone a real 1073. Stam Audio really performs against units costing $2-3K at retail stores. Let’s never take Stam Audio for granted because Joshua and the Stam Audio team are delivering out of this world studio gear at a reasonable price for home/project studio owners. Even big studios benefit out of Stam because they can preserve their classic gear and throw reliable and consistent Stam Audio workhorses that’s not far at all from sounding like the originals. One last thing, I gotta give props where props are due. Stam Audio really does go above and beyond with quality parts. I’ve noticed now with the SA-2A, 3A and 1073EQ that the potentiometers (Pots) are top notch! Every time I’ve conducted my tests, I make sure to level match. Well, I’ve noticed that the Pots in Stam Audio always and I mean ALWAYS! respond accurately each and every time with very little effort. It’s the right type of tactile feedback to what my digital meters are displaying. This is not the case with my Sub $1K gear! Sub $1K never amplifies or attenuates at a consistent rate. So kudos to Stam Audio.

Review By Daniel Redd

SA-800 – Tube Condenser Microphone

Finally got my SA-800 about two weeks ago and have been putting it through the wringer so far. Have used it on a bunch of vocalists already and from aggressive hip hop vocals to soulful r & b vibes this mic has sounded amazing. Deep rich lows, pristine sparkly top end, everything sounds amazing with this mic! I couldn't have been more pleased with this purchase and it will definitely be one of our go to mics in the studio, was worth every penny and the wait!

Review By rockstarmvpaudio

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

I can't really add much by the looks of these reviews, besides telling everyone I they are all right! After trying out this mic for the past few weeks I can honestly say I have not used a better LDC in my life. It has a beautiful detailed vintage sound. A bit dark with a touch of saturation in the mid-lows. When treated with eq it can be brightened to taste without it ever sounding thin or harsh. I love the sound of this piece of art and thank the good people at Stam Audio for their hard work and time they put into these mics. We can hear it!!

Review By Stijn Donders

SA-800 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I know it might hard to believe that the sonic quality and clarity of the Sony 800G can be reproduced at a fraction of the retail price but the hype is REAL. The moment we heard the SA-800 on vocals our jaws dropped. This may be the best sounding mic I have ever used. Incredibly low noise and superb clarity. It instantly cuts through the mix and sits just perfectly. Everything about this mic is as superb as I could ever dream. If you don't have the SA-800 in your mic locker you are missing a secret weapon that will bring your production to the next level.

Review By Jay Goodman

SA-800 – Tube Condenser Microphone

Just received!! These guys did an incredibile job! The sound is astonishing a perfect an stable tonal balance even at higer volume. Real close to the C800 at fraction of the price.

Review By Riccardo Mazza

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Fantastic!! I used few older models in late 80’ and sa 87 really gives me again that amazing sound!! 5 stars!!!!

Review By Riccardo Mazza

SA-251 – Tube Condenser Microphone

Who ever wrote this review of your Mic is a racist asshole. You might want to vet comments on your site more carefully. 1 review for SA-251 – Tube Condenser Microphone Rated 5 out of 5 John – December 15, 2019 This microphone is crisp and clear. In a way, reminds me of a really nice black person. At first, you might be nervous, but after you get to know it, you realize it’s really great at dancing.

Review By John Angier

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Do you have the sa87 in stock now ready to ship?

Review By Strat Wiz

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Amazing all around... a must... everything sound good with this mic. Stam rules!!!!

Review By Cactus Studios

SA-2A+ – Analog Tube Optical Compressor

http://mewkid.net/who-is-xandra/ - Amoxil Amoxicillin dru.bemo.stamaudio.com.efe.ya http://mewkid.net/who-is-xandra/

Review By xawjemudodiy

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Purchased this mic from Turnlab in Belgium. Absolutely stunning sounding mic. So silky, smooth & full sounding. This mic is in a league of its own compared to other mics in the same price range, and I guarantee it tops more expensive mics too!

Review By Tommy

SA-251 – Tube Condenser Microphone

i cant tell if the other review here is racist or not.

Review By Koda Keller

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

my 73mpa is on backorder. from the samples i heard, love the sowter dark sound like the originals. dont let ur competition or anonymous haters on gearslutz, tell you its not good enough, cause you have something special here. youre beating ur competition by having that extra sowter. keep up the great work.

Review By R. A

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Just got them yesterday after an admittedly long wait. But I have to say, they are absolutely fantastic. They compare VERY favorably to my old Neumann 87s, but are damn closely matched and my old ones are definitely not. These are truly great microphones, especially at this price.

Review By D. James Goodwin

SA-V72 – 2-Channel Tube Microphone Preamplifier

Awesome if it’s a single unit.

Review By Joel Izquierdo

SA-V72 – 2-Channel Tube Microphone Preamplifier

Do you have a single channel version?

Review By Joel Izquierdo

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

Awesome. Worth the wait. EVERYTHING sounds better through them. Only wish Stam would keep making them (or hope the make something similar) so more folks have the opportunity to have these.

Review By Chris Kleiner

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

Fue mi primer equipo comprado en Stam Audio... lo que me llevó a animarme a tener otros, asi de simple. Excelente sonido, compañero inseparable en mis mezclas.

Review By Pablo Urrutia

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

Es un excelente equipo, los resultados sonoros son muy buenos, te facilita mucho la vida cuando ya grabas con un producto de calidad, la voces quedan de inmediato adelante, le das unos toquecitos al eq y ya estás listo!!!...lo mejor de todo es que son precios asequibles sin tranzar con la calidad.

Review By Pablo Urrutia

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

Still waiting on my after giving a deposit over a year ago

Review By John Macy

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

I've got a lot of mileage out this microphone! It really does all of the 47fet tricks. Kick drums, bass cabs, brass, and brash singers all get the royal treatment. Smooth top end and BEEFY bottom while being super-tight. Oh, and it's fraction of the price of something with an "N" badge.

Review By Jamie Sitar

SA-251 – Tube Condenser Microphone

This microphone is crisp and clear. In a way, reminds me of a really nice black person. At first, you might be nervous, but after you get to know it, you realize it's really great at dancing.

Review By John

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

I got my pair of EQP1A yesterday They look and work very good. My first test on the mixbus was completely convincing. Very good sounding units. Clear, warm and big. Everything works perfect. So cool to have the mid band with the cut/boost/bypass option. This is a big bonus ! These EQs are very effective. (The same Setting on an UAD or waves Plug In sounds absolute dull. sorry for this unworthy comparison. but other plug ins are often more similar to the modeled hardware units) It feels like you can boost much more with these units without getting an exhausting sound. I am absolutely satisfied. Can't wait to use them on my next mixes and for tracking. Thank you so much Joshua ! Great work

Review By Frank P.

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

Por esta maravilla espere cerca de un año, nunca fui impaciente debido a que sabría que lo que llegaría me sorprendería considerablemente, y así fue. Podría estar todo el día moviendo las perillas para encontrar diferentes sonidos, desde los “seteos” más extremos hasta clásicos que sirven en cualquier mezcla, jamás me cansare de esta gran maquina, al nivelar volúmenes y presionar el botón de bypass el cambio es sumamente notorio y satisfactorio. Excelente trabajo del equipo Stam y felicitaciones.

Review By Fabrizio Guido Cremaschi Valenzuela

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Fue el primer producto que compre a Stam Audio, tomo su tiempo en llegar, pero cuando lo hizo quede sumamente sorprendido, me dio exactamente lo que necesitaba y daban ganas de pasar cualquier pista por el para ver que sucedía y como esta de alguna manera mejoraba su calidad considerablemente, es una maquina sumamente solidad y se nota que su construcción interior es de alta calidad y excelente manufactura. Jamás parare de comprar hardware a Stam Audio demoren lo que demoren es una buena inversión y lo que llega es 100% pura calidad y sabor.

Review By Fabrizio Guido Cremaschi Valenzuela

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

These EQ’s are well thought-out and faithful recreations of the originals. Bass magic attenuation? Check. Variable mid clarifying? Check. Beautiful high-end silly smoothness? Check. Two EQ’s in one, a fraction of the cost of a branded unit, and genuine, premium components. What more could you possibly ask for? I would have never afforded real Pultecs but I don’t feel I am missing a thing with these beauties. So glad I bought a stereo pair!

Review By John Graves

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I own all kinds of mics from RCA 77's to the Brauner Valvet and all points in between. This mic is a spectacular iteration of one of the finest Neumann designs. From it's build quality to its exceptionally low noise floor you simply cannot buy a finer of this microphone on the open market.

Review By Aaron Levinson

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

This is a wonderful piece of gear featuring everything I expext from a unique and first class preamp. Beautiful tone from selected components that make up a top notch gem. Thank you so much Stam Audio!

Review By wolf.hend

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

This is a wonderful piece of gear that performs everything I expect from a unique preamp. Carnhill and Sowter Transformers are top notch and the possibility to side chain additional equipment is absolutely useful. Thank you so much Stam Audio for this superb gem!

Review By Wolfgang Hendrich

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Wow! This mic is everything that I love about old U87's without the price tag. Full and detailed, yet tight and smooth. I just did my first vocal session with my SA87 and could not believe how little I paid to get "that" sound. I would choose this over a new U87ai any day. It doesn't hurt that I can buy 4 or 5 of them for the cost of 1 Neumann!

Review By Jamie Sitar

StamChild SA-670 – Stereo Analog Tube Compressor

I was first approached by Stam Audio late January 2019 with an offer of a "30% discount to an item of your choice from our catalogue" Well that got my attention so I scootered around the site and landed on the StamChild SA-670 page. It looked so good and authentic. I thought, if it sounded as good as it looked then it will be a great addition to my studio. Then I saw the price and to be honest, was a little skeptical as to how good it could be at such a reasonable price, however with the full refund (including shipping) satisfaction guarantee, I went for it. I paid the $500 deposit and was informed it will be around a 10 week delivery time. Six months later(!) the unit finally arrived (serial number 16). My first impression was wow! This is a quality build, no corners cut. The workmanship inside the unit is equally impressive. I haven’t seen work like this since Pete Cornish hand built my pedal board in the late 80’s. Anyway, the real test was how it sounded and its usability. I tested it on vocals, instruments, 2 bus and mastering chain. I was blown away with how good it sounded. It did everything that was expected of it and more. The added mix/parallel control is a genius move. As an earlier user stated, between 7 & 8 seems to be a sweet spot for the blend. My next move was to compare it to some of the Fairchild plugins, and although the convenience of a plugin is a factor, there is just nothing that compares to an analogue sound going through 18 tubes. In conclusion, Joshua Stam does top shelf work and stands by his gear. Yes the delivery delays were frustrating but a few hours into using the Stamchild the frustration just melted away. I, for one am going to order more of his products before word catches on and the price goes up 🙂 Congrats Joshua on an outstanding build & I look forward to checking out more of your products. Michael Cozzi Owner Moscozzi Studio www.moscozzistudio.com

Review By moscozzi12

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Wow!! What a great microphone and worth the wait... Great body and clarity. Have used many vintage U87's over the years and this does not disappoint. Amazing mic on vocals, guitars and drum room. Keep up the amazing work Stam Audio!!! You're truly making a mark.

Review By TimHo

StamChild SA-670 – Stereo Analog Tube Compressor

I was very lucky to be one of the first 10 people to receive a StamChild. Unfortunately, I also had some very bad luck with my unit. One of the VU meters was getting stuck...and then I was getting a crackling noise in the right channel. However, Stam Audio was extremely professional and even offered to send me a brand new unit at no cost. I decided to let their east coast tech in the United States take a look at it. The designer of the StamChild even did a live video chat with the tech to guide him through fixing the issues. They sent over a new VU meter and were able to get my unit to perfect working order in a relatively quick amount of time. This unit is absolutely outstanding!!! It's a piece of art. And Josh personally followed up with me via email multiple times to ensure my unit is working properly and to make sure I am happy with the unit. No one ever wants to deal with a piece of analog gear that has bad luck...but Stam made me feel like I had nothing to worry about and was willing to make it right no matter what. That goes a long way for me. I also have an SA-87 microphone and a 1073EQ preamp (with Sowter transformer and line input). Both of those work without any issues...so I knew the StamChild was just a case of bad luck. Now...let me talk about the way this baby sounds. I've only tested it out so far on an entire stereo mix...and drums...but in both cases my mind was absolutely blown. The amount of depth and width this unit adds is amazing. The mix was instantly glued together and the transients were tamed in a truly special way. Lows sounded more defined and tight. Mids shined thru without being too pokey. And the highs were tamed and rounded off with an almost tape-like saturation. Drums sounded punchier than ever...and gained a very natural sounding reverb-like effect. I plan on using this for vocals, guitars, piano, synths...pretty much anything and everything. Just running a signal thru the StamChild without any compression still adds something special. This unit will forever be the centerpiece of my studio...and I have some amazing pieces of gear (Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Louder than Liftoff Silver Bullet, Audioscape Buss Comp, etc). Thank you, Josh...and the entire Stam Audio team for building such a special piece of gear and for making sure I was taken care of.

Review By Steve G

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

My first experience with Stam and I have to say it has been excellent. I bought a pair of these with the line input transformer and the Sowter output. Pre amp is huge and the EQ is super smooth. Everything it touches turns into something special . Service from Stam has been great from Order to Delivery. Already got my eye on some more Stam products

Review By Ken McGowan

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

Excellent preamp and EQ!! I’ve always wanted a 1073pre+eq and I could never afford it, but thanks to Stam now I was able to afford one and get an amazing piece of gear for a fraction of the cost of what the real thing would’ve been. In terms of quality, it is excellent too! Couldn’t have a better preamp at this price and at this level of quality, thank you Stam! 🙂

Review By Daniel Salvador

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

The new Stam audio 87 (neuman U87 clone) mic is working out well. I’m so glad I bought it. It was a hassle getting it here - it took 10 months, and for a while i was wondering if I had been conned. But in the end I realized that it was a quality issue they were working on changing suppliers of the main component. In the end it was worth it.

Review By thane

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

It is the best preamp I've used, built as a tank to last a lifetime. Joshua, Camila and the attention of the whole team is really good. They answered all my questions, I totally recommend this preamp, I will definitely continue shopping at Stam, I want all the microphones!

Review By Boris Gonzalez

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

Great pro sound. Easy to use even if turning off and on and bypassing the compression is a little confusing. Still an amazing piece and compression wise what else do you need. Loving tracking with it 🙂

Review By Eric

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

The SA-87 is a truly great sounding microphone. It sounds every bit as good or better in some cases than my Neumann microphones. Not a fan of the shock mount, but it works. Considering the cost, it's a no brainier. Just have to be extremely patient with shipping times. Mine took almost 11 months to ship after I put down my deposit.

Review By Michael Harmon

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Great great microphone. Very impressed and happy with it. Stam makes great products!

Review By Wes E

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

This microphone is very great for the money. I am very happy with it. Have been using it on vocals so far. Definitely recommend!

Review By Wes E

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

The SA87 is an affordable means into the U87 world. This microphone sounds fantastic as well as all of their other microphones. Built well with a classic look.

Review By Wes

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

4/5 Stars I have a pair of Stam’s Pultec clones and I’ve already run two mixes thrum them as part of my 2-bus chain (Manley NuMu > Massive Passive > Kush Clariphonic > Pultecs > Gyraf G-Bus). The good: Compared to similarly priced clones of Pultecs, the Stams clearly benefit from the inclusion of the 3rd transformer stage (as per the original design). They greatly help to round over some of the top end edges that the Clariphonic creates to give a bright, but rounded, top-end. The other clones I’ve heard I’ve heard are less ‘warm’ and add too much edge to the top-end for a Pultec style EQ; at that point, I would rather go just the UAD route. I also love the refined purist route they went; including the third transformer stage, but also morphing in the mid-band control of the M-EQ Pultec! The bad: Took 9 months to fulfill the order, and a bit too many paranoid e-mails with customer service to keep up to speed. They also shipped to my old studio address despite my message to them that I had moved; however, this isn’t ridiculous considering that it was the address on the PayPal invoice. That being said, I can see the improvements that Josh is making to how the ship floats (rather than just how powerful the cannons are), so I’m very optimistic that Stam will prove to be an excellent company. Best of luck Stam! I’ll definitely have more purchases from you in the future! - Stephen Kurpis / Vitruvian Sound NYC

Review By Stephen Kurpis

SA-67 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I love this mic. It fits my voice so well, taming the transients and articulations that tend to spike in other LDCs. They've nailed the feedback/ transformer mojo of the originals. Mid-forward and warm, with a gorgeously managed low-end. Takes EQ exceptionally well. Lack of modern HF extension is actually a selling point for me. Between this and the SA47 I have so many voices covered.

Review By Caleb

SA-23A+ – Analog Tube Optical Compressor

I recieved my Stam SA3A 3 months ago i live in Australia and all i can say is its a true work of art i have access to a very well kept vintage UREI la3a so i did the a b thingy and it won to my ears and im into the vintage tone i do old 50,s 60,s music i use just a touch on vocals and bliss my friend has the sa2a and again magic i sold my warm audio wa2a which are good but on a different level so this made me without hesitation put a deposit down on the sa23a+ Oh i almost forgot the sa23a+ has the highly under rated la4 on it now there is a lot of controversy over the urei la4a but i find it fabulous on vocals it was the compressor used on roy orbisons album california blue so what a monster this comp is gonna be i am drooling to get it i think that Joshua is a young enthusiastic genius and Camila is an Angel take care of her and she will take care of you if you can wait a bit you will be estatic im sure and i never write reviews just thought i had to in this case thanx Mike

Review By Michael van zetten

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

Simple and extremely well-built compressor. I have no doubt that it will last for a long time. The fact that you are able to change between "A" "D" and "G" with just a press of a button is amazing innovation which helps my workflow immensely. Own the unit for almost 6 months now and haven't had a regret one single time for buying it. As far as sound is concerned, the knobs are made in a way which enables me to both smoothly and rapidly dial in order to find the right level of affecting the source. Buttons are well made (no popping out or something similar). I was only surprised that unit was off when on is pressed, but, regardless, I am giving this unit 5+ stars for sound alteration and quality. Affordable and amazing outboard!!! Well done STAM.

Review By Luka

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

Increíble producto Gracias Joshua van der Stam y Camila junto a todo el equipo de Stam Audio que está detrás de estos maravillosos productos. Es increíble la magia que tiene en las voces solo aumentando los 100 hz y los 10Khz, brillan! Y le da una presencia tremenda. Ni hablar de la tarola y principalmente el KICK!!. en TODO brilla esta unidad. Gracias por el rango de frecuencia medio lo amo igual 🙂

Review By Dylan Penney

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Just took this mic out for it's first session a few days after receiving it and it was love at first listen. Ran it through my Neve Shelford channel, the sound was phenomenal! Soon to have a permeant home in my studio A Top Secret Location once construction is done!

Review By Steve "Rock Star" Dickey

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

We decided to purchase an SA4000 for Dirt Floor Recording Studio in Connecticut. We had been using an SSL knock off made by Vintage Audio for our buss compressor. I was a little nervous that I was putting a $100 down payment on a unit that was not built yet, was not in the USA, and could not be tested at a dealer, but I thought it was worth the gamble. The unit took about 2 months to show up. Upon opening the box, I saw that the exterior build quality was first class. I got the phillips screwdriver next and opened it up to make sure it was what I thought it was, and sure enough the guts were first class build all the way! I believe the website said it was XLR I/O but the unit has balanced TRS. Not a big deal since it's going to sit in a rack in the studio. Well, we wired it up to the patch bay and strapped it across the stereo buss of our Toft ATB 24 and BOOM!!! There was that SSL sound! Punch all day long, lots of gain make up, and input headroom that we have not hit the top of yet! The metering is nice and easy to see across the control room. Knobs and switches are solid. Even the power switch is top quality. We have not wired up the sidechain yet because the unit is in service around the clock! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone that may be using an SSL master buss plug-in in your DAW, or if you are mixing on a console through a lower quality stereo compressor. If you can go out of the box through this and back into your DAW again, you'll be very happy with the results! Like I always say, Vintage gear is only as cool as the repair bill. We considered a vintage SSL FX384, but decided to try the SA4000. The sound of the SA4000 is about 99% of the SSL and saving $3,000 makes it sound even better than the SSL 384! This unit costs about $600 US, so you're losing money if you don't buy it. I'd consider any product made by STAM in the future. Nice job Joshua!!!

Review By Steve Wytas

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

This is a honestly huge sounding pre amp!! It makes the singer smile. it has a certain touch of magic. Vocals seriously become huge, and believe me i tried a range of valuable pre amps. it has the dark vintage tone. it does have a certain tone. and it has HUGE amount of gain!!!! Talking about the EQ, the eq is sooooooo smoooth, u raise the high end to the end, still do not get any spitty type of effect. its so silky. the low is not muddy AT ALL!!! amazing piece of gear.

Review By Karnig Baghdassarian

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

I waited patiently for the model with the Sowter transformers and it was totally worth it. This thing sounds absolutely gorgeous. Like velvet butter. It's also whisper quiet. I engaged the DI and cranked the gain to max and no noise at all. The sound is huge, smooth, but still incredibly detailed. It made my "whatever" guitar in my "whatever" room sound (almost) like a Fleetwood Mac record. I'm incredibly impressed and totally in love with it. Can't wait for the rest of the stuff I have on order 🙂

Review By Al Isler

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

Great product! The build is very good, very solid. Sound quality is excellent!

Review By Serge monette

StamChild SA-670 – Stereo Analog Tube Compressor

In today’s world of instant gratification of buying something on the internet today and having it at your doorstep tomorrow morning, ordering a piece of audio gear made by Stam must seem crazy to 99.9% of people on Earth. When a new Stam product is announced, it’s usually a computer mock up and a circuit that being designed by Joshua van der Stam in Chile, but if you’re one of the first to pre order one, you’ll get a discount! Here’s where the big leap of faith and patience comes in. I took that leap a few years ago with the Stam Audio SA4000 compressor. I put down my $100USD via Paypal and rolled the dice on an unknown company on another continent with not much of a track record. If I never saw my money again, it was no big deal. I’ve purchased plugins for my DAW for five times as much, and to this day, I still never use them and now are not compatible with newer DAWs. Stam Audio was in its infancy, and a business model of getting down payments to source the parts and get them built was unheard of in the industry. Any problems, and there would be a lot of angry customers. The SA4000 took about 2 months to arrive, but when it did, I was very impressed by the build quality. After putting it into service, the sound was equally impressive. I purchased the SA4000 because I’ve only owned Neve consoles, loved the SSL master buss sound, but I didn’t want to dish out the big money for an SSL FX384 or a used SSL 4000 console. Since I purchased the SA4000, Stam Audio has really ramped up the product line of classic design preamps, EQs, and compressors as well as microphones. I was pretty well stocked up in those departments at my facility, so I didn’t need to make another purchase until the BIG announcement came in 2018. The Holy Grail of compressors was being brought back to life. The Stamchild 670 stereo tube compressor was announced!!! I had the opportunity to purchase a Fairchild 670 in 1990 for whopping $10,000USD, but I thought a Lexicon 480L would be a better investment for my studio because I could rent the unit out to other facilities in the area and make some extra money when it wasn’t in use. Well, the 670 kept going up up up in resale value and the 480L kept going down down down. I guess a Fairchild 670 would never be in my budget in this lifetime, so I resorted to using plugins to get “that Fairchild sound”. I took the leap of faith again after the BIG Stamchild 670 announcement and put down $500 on a pre-order. The Stam website listed a delivery time of 3 months which was not to too bad considering the SA4000 took two months to deliver. Following Stam Audio on social media became very difficult after putting down my deposit. Angry posts kept showing up about lack of delivery of products ordered months earlier and the Stamchild 670 release dates kept being delayed because of numerous things that were out of the control of Stam like sourced parts and custom transformers. With new products being announced just about every month, I started to rethink if the Stamchild 670 would ever become a reality. I reminded myself of the “Good, Fast, Cheap, pick any two” rule, so I subtracted “Fast” from the equation. Stam Audio gear it’s not going to be ordered online today and show up tomorrow like a 1-800-Sweet-Gear store, but it will be Good and Cheap (inexpensive). In fact, I know a guy that has been trying to make his own Fairchild clone for years at the cost of almost $10,000USD and it’s still not finished! I put aside the idea that the Stamchild was going to show up by the end of 2018, and watched pictures of the test units on the bench over the next few months on the Stam Facebook page, and then I got an unexpected email from Stam with the subject line: Stamchild Invoice. I almost panicked! I was lulled into waiting so long that now I have to come up with the rest of the payment in order for it to ship. I made the payment and received an email from Stam with the DHL tracking number. I checked the DHL website every four hours to watch the progress from Chile to the United States and eventually got a text message from DHL alerting me that the unit was on the truck and would be delivered by the end of the day! The Stamchild 670 was delivered with a personal thank you for my patience for waiting so long. I opened up the double boxed unit, and there it was. Forty pounds of tube compression heaven! I couldn’t get it plugged in fast enough and hooked up to a sound source. Once I plugged it in and let it warm up (literally), the sound coming out of the Stamchild was better than the sound going in. Magical, yet almost transparent. It was doing it’s thing! I quickly played around with some of the input and gain reduction settings as well as the ratio presets and filters. Wow! I really loved the sound of the WET/DRY setting in the 7-8 position where you get a nice blend of the original signal and make up the wet signal by the front panel input gain. The final make up gain is set by the output knob, which never needed to go beyond half way. The unit offers the perfect amount of much wanted musical Total Harmonic Distortion to bring the sound to life. With eighteen vintage tubes, six custom transformers, and the retro vintage knobs, the Stamchild 670 is now the centerpiece of our outboard gear at Dirt Floor Recording and Production in the United States and it will be in daily use for years to come. Joshua van der Stam is very ambitious, very detail oriented when it comes to his designs, and his passion for sound quality is a bit off the charts. In fact, he may be too ambitious. To say the wait time to get a unit delivered is long is an understatement, but when it arrives, you’ll know the sound quality is going to be outstanding. Stam products are a work of art and are not mass produced by robots. When your unit arrives, open up the lid (with the unit unplugged!!) and take a look inside and you’ll see what I mean. Thank you for your hard work and dedication to making high quality audio equipment and making the Stamchild 670 available to us Josh! Steve Wytas Chief Engineer Dirt Floor Recording and Production http://dirtfloorrecordingstudio.com/

Review By Audio 911

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I am very happy with my purchase! The vocals are stunning. Magical Microphone!

Review By Adrian Csapo - Csapo Studios

SA-EQP1A – Analog Tube Equalizer

I bought a pair of these bad boys. The bottom end on the Stam, was tight and punchy (no flubber) and resonated beautifully! The high end was silky and smooth, it was so pleasant to the ears. The sonics were deep and 3d, I love these units. Yes do believe the Hype, Stam stands up like a champion and most importantly I love what Joshua stands for in the market, these units were made with heart & soul, you can feel it. Best investment I made! Thank you

Review By assaad.lakkis

StamChild SA-670 – Stereo Analog Tube Compressor

English Translation of First Review: High machine, a true beast! In my opinion there is no better way to describe it. It is a living machine, in the good sense of the word, it demands that you listen carefully, that you feel how it interacts with your music, they have a tremendous sound, it is difficult to find the right word, because it is not HiFi, much less LowFi, the distortion It is not like that of a cheap equipment that more than excite, it breaks all the vibe, the SA-670 enlarges, controls, has personality but can treat the audio with affection and softness. Stam is going to break it with this team!

Review By Antony Mosley

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

My 1073eq took almost 2 years to arrive ...was it worth the wait? YES! ABSOLUTELY! This unit sounds beautiful. I am a very happy man. Thanks Stam!

Review By Stephen Gallagher

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

I bought a pair of these with the line input transformer and the Sowter output. They're incredible. They sound just as huge and smooth as the originals, but they're dependable and affordable. So far, I've used them on vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, and synth - all with the expected stunning result.

Review By Jamie Sitar

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

The SA-76ADG is a brilliant box, having 3 revisions in one. It has a rich, elegant and harmonically dense sound that will sweeten and add vibe to anything you use it on. And the price is incredible. My only constructive feedback and the reason for the missing star are these few things. 1) The compression behavior of this box does not have the control that a typical 1176 has. If you're looking for something to really clamp down and add smack to a source, this isn't the box. It has the flavor of a 76 (3 different 76's!), but the compression behavior is much gentler. 2) The detents of the input and output pots make setting levels challenging because their fine movement, especially on the input, has a very coarse effect. One detent might make a much more dramatic change than needed. Also, I have a pair of ADG's and because of the slight differences in each unit's input pots I can't get them to match for a stereo pair because the detent's leap-frog each other. 3) This is a non-issue but aesthetically, I'm not sure why the silkscreen for the revision radio-buttons are labeled "meter" when it should be labeled "revision" and the OFF button is labeled "on." That constructive criticism aside, I love my 2 ADG's and won't part with them anytime soon. Great value for the price. Thanks, Stam.

Review By Mark

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I got a lot of mics in my locker, Neumanns, JZs, Nevatons, Lautenaudio etc.. but I really love this mic. I only buy it because I want to use it for vocals recordings but after 5 month its one of my go to mics for everything. Great as a OH Mono Mic. Incredible in front of the kick. Nice at E-Guitars, AccGuitars etc... The only problem....I need one more 🙂 Because the wait was long I tried out the warm audio. And IMHO with the WA-47 you get only an idea how a U-47 maybe could be, but the Stam make the magic ! The built quality of the WA-47 by the way is shit. I mean really shit. The only sad thing about the S47 is that the powersupply has no light to shows that it´s on. THANK YOU STAM !

Review By Patrick Bohr

StamChild SA-670 – Stereo Analog Tube Compressor

Alta máquina, una verdadera bestia! En mi opinión no hay mejor manera de describirla. Es una máquina viva, en el buen sentido de la palabra, te exige que escuches atentamente, que sientas como interactúa con tu música, tienen un tremendo sonido, es dificil encontrar la palabra justa, porque no es HiFi, mucho menos LowFi, la distorsión no es como la de un equipo barato que mas que excitar, rompe toda la vibra, el SA-670 agranda, controla, tiene personalidad pero puede tratar al audio con cariño y suavidad. Stam la va a romper con este equipo!

Review By Alejandro Sanchez

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

I’ve got 4 of these and I’ll probably be ordering more. These sound great and all of the input and output options on the back make my work flow so much easier. I’ve been happy with everything I’ve bought from Stam so far and they’ve really outdone themselves with this one. Thanks Stam!!!

Review By Dave

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

Fantástico preamp! Nada como enchufar el micrófono y tus voces encajarán perfectamente en la mezcla. Probado también en un bajo y el low end es impresionante! Felicidades a todo el equipo de stam audio por la fabricación de uno de los mejores aparatos que he tenido ocasión de probar. Genial servicio al cliente y rápido envío!

Review By Pablo

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

This is another instant classic from Stam Audio! I grabbed a couple of these SA-76 ADG's... and am extremely happy I did. Switching between the all the 1176 versions has been incredible. They all sound so different, and the ability to alter the vibe of your program material by simply switching through each type is VERY cool. This was such a brilliant idea from Stam, and makes these an instant classic. Each version sounds incredible... the warmth and punch of these compressors is really astounding. I'm super happy!

Review By Michael Dietel

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Everything sounds big through this preamp. It has a great warm saturation and you can really feel and hear the quality of construction. I use it on recordings and also in the mixing process re-amping old tracks to get a new/different flavour into my mixes. It was worth the wait and I would totally recommend it.

Review By Raúl

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Initially used on a kick (external in front), have since used it on a bass cabinet and and upright bass. Incredible!!! As said in earlier reviews, it's musical!! What else needs to be said...

Review By JC Lamson

SA-T69 – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

maravilloso

Review By daniel curiqueo

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Finally received the 1073MPA w/ sowter transformers, it was well worth the waiting time. So far I used it for acoustic guitar, drum overheads, vocals. Beautiful round tone, every signal that goes through it becomes much more easy to mix. I cannot compare to an original 1073 but I'm very happy to own this preamp and will definitely consider buying another!

Review By borhythm

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

When the SA47FET arrived, there was something rattling inside the grill. Josh got me in touch with Stam's service guy in the USA -it took about a week to get the repaired unit back. So... one of my worries about buying gear from Chile and getting the gear serviced was satisfied. Over the years I found every company is great when they're trying to get your $'s, but how they respond to a problem really tells what kind of company you're dealing with and Stam Audio is TOP NOTCH!! As far as actual use the mic was initially for use on kick & bass cabinet and for both it is incredible!! It's my 'go to' for both now. This past weekend I used it on an upright bass HOLY SH!T!!! The detail, definition, silkiness & articulation was breathtaking!! A GREAT mic from a GREAT company!! Kudos Josh!!

Review By JC Lamson

SA-76ADF – Analog FET Compressor

Looking forward to a visit to Chile on the 25th of July. I would love to visit your facility and speak with you I have many clients who have shown an interest Especially with the 1176 series SA-76ADF Regards Karl

Review By Karl Grant

SA-67 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I own a pair of SA67’s with Telefunken NOS tubes and am complete inspired by these mics. They sound rich and detailed on everything I throw at them. Drum overheads, string quartets, vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion, room mics, all sound rich, smooth, and detailed. Joshua and his crew work very hard at delivering absolute incredible gear. The quality of the work coming out of my studio has grown exponentially with my collection of Stam gear. Having a pair of SA67’s is a definite game changer!! Thanks Stam!

Review By Jason

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Very happy with these mics! Pairs up nicely with the Neve 1073 for vocals. Great!

Review By Nils Christian Fossdal

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

I do not have any experience with the original hardware, but the sound of this pre-amp is absolutely amazing. As soon as stam is selling them again, i ll order a second one! <3

Review By Lutz Munka

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

I use my 1073mpa on absolutely everything. And it all sounds good. Especially on electric guitars, vocals, and bass. Keys, percussion....everything. The saturation is glorious and it is THAT sound. Great price, great build, great preamp. I will keep on buying from Stam.

Review By The Rev

SA-67 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I am not a singer, but I am a vocalist with a nasally voice. The SA67 adds a smoothness and a professional sheen to my voice that just works! And It sounds great on guitar cabs, bass cabs, acoustics, percussion, everything. Hands down the best mic I have ever used.

Review By The Rev

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I have been using this mic for a few months now, and I love it. Works great on everything, Acoustic Guitars, Electric Guitars, in front of a Drum Kit and is specially great on Vocals. It has been de #1 mic of the studio since his arrival. Great construction and comes with an excellent case and the proper accessories for this kind of mic Thanks guys!

Review By martin schlotfeldt

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

The STAM SA47 is a fantastic microphone. Well built, fantastically priced, and sounds glorious. I couldn't be happier.

Review By Peter Knight

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

The 1073 Pre/EQ has such a beautiful sound and is very versatile. First, all on sources, as an EQ insert, it completely blew away every 1073 plugin I own (UAD, Waves, etc). On live tracked vocals the sound was huge. I can only describe it as lush, wide and open with a rich tone. It put a smile on my face the second I heard with without even having to turn any knobs. When you start getting into pushing the unit harder, the distortions produced are very pleasant. I highly recommend this unit to anyone serious about recording acoustic instruments especially vocals. I also love 1073 on kick/snare, but it will sound good on anything. Extra brownie points to Stam for shipping it so fast as well (it arrived at my place in 4 days once it was shipped from their warehouse).

Review By RyanRuin

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Fantastic work! Awesome on vocal, acoustic guitar, Drum mono room. Versatile and beautiful microphone. Thanks for your work.

Review By Leviss (BREVIS recording studio)

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

I bought four SA-87 for use in Japan. The sound quality is almost the same as the original 87i in the studio. It is an almighty mic that can be used for various recordings such as vocals, pianos, strings, and brass. I highly recommend it.

Review By fkenbo

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

Nothing short of amazing. A pleasure to use. Brings out a musical quality in our singers we have not heard before. Compared this to a Flea 47 - same ballpark. Could not be happier with this investment. Thanks Stam for another great product. Cost has always been our guiding factor - we need the best quality for the lowest price, and this product, we feel, is setting the bar quite high for similar microphones. We finally have a sound that we always wanted - but for a very reasonable price. One note - we did notice that the phase was inverted when the mic arrived. We became aware of this issue from another reviewer, checked it out and they were correct in their assessment. Not sure where the issue occurred in the circuit but our tech was able to fix the polarity flip. Will update when we have more specific info. Thanks! Analog Rock Machine Studio Honolulu, HI

Review By Chris Chorney

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

The Stam SA-47F is a fantastic mic. This exceeded our expectations. The sound is full and clear with a great low end. We use this on kick, vocals and guitar through the Stam 1073MPA. It just sounds correct - and musical. We usually combine this mic (outside) with a D6 (inside) the kick. Just ordered another one too. I can't think of a more solid investment. Things we love: The sturdy build and heft, decent shock mount system, sound quality especially the way it handles the kick drum, its musicality and usefulness on many sources. Thanks Stam! Analog Rock Machine Studio Honolulu, HI

Review By Chris Chorney

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

We have been using our Stam Audio 1073DPA For about a year now and we are extremely happy with the results. It is as clear, full-bodied and trouble-free as we could have hoped for. We rely on it every day and it is a workhorse preamp! Vocals sound clear and full. It has never given us any problems, and we want more of them! We know we can rely on Stam to deliver something special and useable; there is nothing in this price range we can think of that gives us a better sound quality. It has helped us take our music to the next level of quality for a very reasonable cost. Features we love: the insert point (used this for sending vocals through guitar pedals and tape delays), well-built, Sowter transformers. There is music in this box. Aloha from Honolulu, Hawaii, Chris and Lock from Analog Rock Machine Studio

Review By Chris Chorney

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

I've found the SA-47F to be the perfect snare bottom mic for an explosive and aggressive sounding snare without being harsh or grating. It's become my go-to!

Review By Adam Nolly Getgood

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

This mic is gold ! Never had the pleasure of using an original one , but i don’t feel the need anymore . Beautifull full shimmering in depth 3-d sound to me !

Review By Frankie

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Very nice Mic , we have a vintage 47 fet at the studio so I can compare , the stam is just a tad brighter but then again the neumann is old and there probably some dirt on it from the years ( that vintage tone haha) great mic for a lot of purposes ( not just kick 😉 ) like everything from stam , top notch !!! Well worth the wait . U go Joshua keep making that kick ass gear

Review By Frankie

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Brilliant microphone. Sounds epic on kick drums as one would expect but is also great for vocals.

Review By CDiscman

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Wonderful microphone. As expected from a U47FET clone, the lows are great: works very well on a bass cab for example. The highs are quite smooth as well, but still very detailed. I've made a few demo's of the sounds on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MoH3BE98tL4 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz-et0CleMM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQL41TYM3WU The build quality feels very solid as well, and the shockmount is also very good and sturdy: Way better than the shockmount that comes with the AKG 414 for example.

Review By Sonic Circuitry

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

Pre amp and EQ both sound top drawer, love mine

Review By Gavin

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

WOW This is the Best preamp and EQ I’ve ever used, Without the eq the preamp has an awesome forward presence, with the EQ engaged it has a beautifully rich low end with a top end that is crisp and airy, thank you Stam Audio.

Review By derekreesemusic

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

The SA-47F is the first Stam product I purchased and I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly it arrived (2 weeks, all the way to the U.S. from Chile), the exceptional build quality, and of course the most important factor of all — how it sounds! I had heard that 47 FETs were most engineers go-to outside kick mics and now I know why. The SA-47F literally gets used on every drum recording now. It's equally good on bass amp and yet it's got enough detail to even work on male vocals! At this price point, it's an absolute no brainer.

Review By Ben

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

I bought my first Stam Audio 1073 MPA around Christmas 2018. I have used it non stop. It is super reliable & sounds amazing. I have used the real thing many times and this is super close to that. In fact for the money, you can’t beat it. It is built like a tank with top notch components. And it’s actually more reliable than a vintage neve. I will keep buying from Josh at Stam with confidence. They offer so many cool versions of vintage gear. You really can’t beat them. And the customer service is great. They will help you with any concerns. Only down side is since the company is growing and everything is hand built, it can take time. It’s not a crazy wait time but in my opinion the wait that you may encounter time to time is worth it. Seriously can’t say enough great things about them. -Stephen Nation Records Studio

Review By Stephen Naveed

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

This microphone is gorgeous. Thus far I've used it on the resonant head of a kick, as a mono overhead, and on vocals. Incredible detail and range without being fatiguing.

Review By Dan Sherwood

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Just ordered my second-MUST have a pair of these. Sounds so so great on everything. Built like a tank-heavy in the hands- a joy to hold and plug in and let that gold warm sound flow into your recorder. STOP F!@#$%^&K around and get a real Mic! This is it!

Review By ERIC N SAMPLE

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

I have been fortunate enough to hang around some amazing recording engineers and recording equipmen over the last 28 years. I've heard many U47s in my life- the most recent was a matched pair with consecutive serial numbers and a stereo power supply! The vintage mics sound incredible!!! My SA47 arrived and it also sounds incredible! I was able to A/B the SA47 to the pair mentioned above. Most U47s sound different from each other. The vintage U47s are over 50 years old and are in great shape but who knows what they've been through over the years. You truly are getting the closest thing to a real U47 with it's high quality. The high end capsule is made by Dany Bouchard in Canada and are professionally skinned with DuPont Mylar and an AMI transformer! No cheap Chinese capsules and transformers!

Review By Vahe Manoukian

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

My SA-47 arrived some months ago (after waiting only 3 weeks for shipping to Germany) and yet there seems to be no source it cannot handle. Especially drum room recordings blew me away. Vocals sound full and sit in the mix very well. It took some days to understand that it just does not need a lot of EQ. Being used to a Neumann U87 Ai (which was my workhorse before) and dealing with it´s harshness the SA-47 does sound very natural and full bodied compared to the U87. STAM´s Pultec may be a good partner to add a little shine on dull voices - maybe that will be my next order from STAM 😉 I will be doing a little shootout with my U87 Ai as soon as I have a free week without recordings

Review By Eike Groenewold

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

STAM has done it again. My 2nd purchase with STAM and I knew I would be getting something special again. This mic is amazing. It is beautifully built and sounds amazing. Nice smooth thick vocals, great for acoustic guitar as well...piano, anything you want to record this just works and gives you a great vintage tone. Shot it against a Telefunken u48 and it's detail response was almost identical. Congrats guys, another winner here.

Review By Matt Berky

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

So glad I ordered 2! Amazing on vocals of course, but equally awesome as a stereo pair on drums and piano. Great build quality - a total bargain!

Review By Jamie Sitar

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

The vintage Neve tone you are looking for, plus an excellent EQ to add presence to your material.

Review By Daniel

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

Worth the wait!! The Stam 1073EQ does not disappoint. Great vintage tone. As good as the originals. Some other clones kinda "get close" but this delivers the magic. Keep up the great work Stam!

Review By tim

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

These sound great, I've got a couple with the Carnhill and a couple with the Sowter options. They are raw and a great addition to the studio sounds great on drums, guitar and vocals and really bring out the texture of the parts through the mics. They are well built and solid to touch, ordering and delivery was easy and they came to Australia well packaged. Highly recommend for some 1073 sounding pre's at an amazing price.

Review By Guy Cooper

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

i have two sets of this pre. one with sowter, one without. both sound just great. Electric guitars, bass, overheads and rooms have never sounded better. i've tried GAP, Warm, GR, and this by far stomps them.SO happy i waited for them.

Review By Nathan Boots

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

This mic is worth every penny. Did mic shootouts with different singers and the SA-47 always just sounded like a record right away. It comes in a beautiful case + flight case, the power supply is beefy in all the right ways, the cable is extra long, and the shockmount is very sturdy. I can't say enough about how great it sounds on anything you put it in front of. Also, don't sleep on the omni pattern!

Review By egroys

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

I love this pre-amp. I use it on just about everything. I noticed that if I turned it up to very high gain and don't trim it down, it began to oscillate and make wild sounds. Although these came into use once, I reached out to the Stam team. They sent replacement parts, gave instructions for my tech, and covered my repair costs. That's the only reason I put 4 stars. But honestly, 5 star pre-amp especially for the price.

Review By egroys

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

I waited a long time to receive this baby, but it is the best sounding version of this preamp we have in our studio and we have 2 other more expensive brands. It’s bigger and richer sounding. I love it. Thanks Stam. They kept me going through the wait.

Review By Robert Moyle

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Everything you expect it to be. Loud and lovely rich velvety saturation. Built like a tank and the DI is also surprisingly better than I expected. A no brainer at this price point. I primarily use this in my portable rack setup for out of studio vocal work but would happily use it in a normal studio environment.

Review By Warren Hunter

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Happy owner of a 1073 MPA (with sowter mod). This is a fairly new acquisition for me but I've really put it through it's paces the last couple months on a film project and I am supremely impressed. The clarity, presence, fullness of the sound is truly remarkable, especially at this price point. My synths, vocals, rhodes, and guitars all have that little something extra. While I don't have much familiarity with the OG 1073's, I have spent a lot of time with a pair of pristine 1084's and to my ears, Stam's recreation of that preamp is absolutely spot-on. Bravo and thank you!

Review By Jordan Lewis

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Very nicely built and sounds great. Fantastic for low output mics like the SM7b and compliments my vintage ribbon mics well. I'm very happy with the 1073MPA and will be buying another in the near future.

Review By Dave Cox

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

I’ve bought the first version of the SA-4000 and I Love it! The SA-4000 is a great sounding unit! STAM Audio hands down has the BEST prices and most important of all, sound quality and build quality of their gear! Thanks for making Such Great Gear!

Review By omegason28

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Don’t think twice and get it! This thing sounds absolutely amazing. Very lucky to own 2 of theses units.

Review By José J. Becerra

SA-47 – Tube Condenser Microphone

For the price this is an absolute awesome microphone. For vocals this is pretty much the go to, whether screaming aggressive or the softest of ballads.

Review By oliver.jp.kenny

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

I have the singular version of the bluestrip rev A and it sounds amazing. For vocals it is just the trick and sounds awesome.

Review By oliver.jp.kenny

SA-23A+ – Analog Tube Optical Compressor

I have the singular version of the LA3A and it is amazing. Sounds just like the vintage LA3A's that I have used in some of the more expensive studios. My guitars live on it.

Review By oliver.jp.kenny

SA-2A+ – Analog Tube Optical Compressor

SA-2A The original SA-2A was my first Stam Audio purchase, I was looking to add some outboard to my recording chain in order to improve the signal going into the DAW whilst tracking, rather than using plug-ins after the A/D conversion. Being based in the UK, I was nervous ordering having only read a few reviews and comments on web forums, But I spoke with Joshua on the phone and was lucky enough to be able to order a rare ‘in-stock’ unit. It arrived promptly, and incredibly well packaged. I did have to pay UK customs charges on it which was a drag, but even so it was still a bargain, the build quality is exceptional. Without doubt no other single piece of equipment has had such a noticeable effect on my recordings. It was a night and day difference. I honestly couldn’t believe the improvement. Vocal tracks now sounded much smoother and thicker, bass tracks just locked in place and sounded richer and warmer. In fact I haven’t found a single instrument that doesn’t benefit from being run through the unit. And it is just so damn enjoyable to use. My only problem now is that I liked it so much that I also ordered the SA-76-Rev-A, so now I have to decide which one to use as they both sound exceptional, of course when appropriate my favourite setting is to use them both in sequence! I can only imagine that the SA-2A+ is going to please anyone who orders it. Having the extra options will be a great benefit, although I like the limitations of having just the two controls (plus the toggle) on the original model. If you are considering a purchase, I say just do it. may take a while to arrive but once you start using it you will be smiling every time.

Review By Sean

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

Este Preamplificador te va a volar la cabeza, Brutal el rango bajo y el llenador rango de armónicos que producen, si puedes obtenerlo en STOCK no lo dudes, si tienes que esperar por el, NO LO DUDES. STAM AUDIO TIENE GARANTIA DE QUE RECIBIRAS UN PRODUCTO HECHO CON AMOR, Y COMO EN EL AMOR, TIENES QUE ESPERAR! Gracias a Josh Y su equipo siempre respondieron a mis dudas.

Review By reservas.cdtravel

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

My kick drum sounds brutal with this mic, One of my best investments.

Review By José J. Becerra

SA-76ADG – Analog FET Compressor

This thing is fantastic. All revisions sound great, the build quality is top and it really stands out in the rack (and gets lots of compliments). The all-in buttons mode is the icing on the cake! Highly recommended.

Review By Alex AVR Music

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

The SA-87 is a piece of art! Very solidly built. Vocals sound absolutely outstanding with this microphone. This mic also takes EQ beautifully. I have it going into my Stam Audio 1073EQ preamp (with Sowter output transformer)...and the combination is killer...especially with the EQ dialed in!

Review By Steve G

SA-67 – Tube Condenser Microphone

This is how midrange should sound!, the highs are so smooth, you can be sure any singer would get that vintage magic with this mic. Estos son los medios que estaba buscando!, los agudos son muy suaves, de seguro todo cantante se verá beneficiado con un toque mágico de nostalgia vintage usando este mic.

Review By Daniel

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

This may be everyone's go-to kick drum mic, but it is by no means a one-trick-pony. I love it on vocal, acoustic guitar, even piano room mic. If you told me this mic cost over $1,000 I wouldn't blink an eye. For only $590, everyone needs (at least) one SA-47F.

Review By thesleepywest

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

Absolutely in love with the sound. Did a shoot out with a new U87 and preferred the character of the Stam. Well worth the wait.

Review By Jake Robertz

SA-87 – Condenser Microphone

This is an *amazing* microphone. Stam Audio is meticulous in the quality of products they make.

Review By Richard Plotkin

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

This unit lives on my mix bus (and occasionally used on drum buses). Amazing glue, punch, and attitude. Destroys any plugin by miles. Highly recommended!

Review By RyanRuin

1073MPA – 2-Channel Microphone Preamplifier

The 1073 MPA is a gorgeous sounding unit. It has a very smooth sound with the smiley face tone that we have all come to know and love. Comparing to UAD 1073 plugins and some other cloned preamps I own, the 1073MPA has a more rich and beautiful 3d image, and sounded like a record from the start. The plugins fell short and sounded dull, 2d, and flat. Depending on the mic choice and how you mic your source, you probably won't even need EQ if you go through one of these units. Highly recommended.

Review By RyanRuin

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

I've bought the first version of the SA4000 and oh boy what a great sounding unit! Stam Audio won me over with their prices and most important of all, sound quality ! The SA4000 is untouchable by all software emulations I've used. The stereo field just opens up and the whole mix glue together amazingly. The sound is superb and with the new added features of the SA4000 mk2 , you can't go wrong. Would buy it again in a instant! Looking forward to my next gear from Stam Audio. Ferdinand

Review By skead.ferdinand3

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

I've bought the first version of the SA4000 and oh boy what a great sounding unit! Stam Audio won me over with their prices and most important of all, sound quality ! The SA4000 is untouchable by all software emulations I've used. The stereo field just opens up and the whole mix glue together amazingly. The sound is superb and with the new added features of the SA4000 mk2 , you can't go wrong. Would buy it again in a instant! Looking forward to my next gear from Stam Audio.

Review By skead.ferdinand3

1073EQ – Microphone Preamplifier & Equalizer

This is a thing of beauty. Fantastic on my vocal chain. The pre amp is incredible on its own and the eq is bang on. Used this on the bass the other day and it really smashes life. I had some neve pre amps that I use also and it’s really hard to tell the difference. This is a no brainer!

Review By scottyjrocker

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

The Stam 47FET is truly incredible. It gives me “that” kick sound as heard on countless hit records, and also happens to sound amazing on vocals. The depth on male vocals is awesome, and it’s fat and smooth without the low end dominating. An absolute no brainer for $599.

Review By Ian

SA-47F – FET Condenser Microphone

Love this mic, I usually use it for kick out, it has that sound you'll expect from a U-47, meaty and lovely low end. But it also shines on vocals!

Review By jorgenberg

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

I have had this unit for sometime now, and it's a beautiful peace of gear, highly recommended. It lives on my master bus, oh man it's happy there. Instant mojo and glue!

Review By jorgenberg

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

11/14/16 I have to give it up to Stam Audio from Chile. Bought an audio compressor from them (SSL G4000 clone), had a minor issue with it & they didn't even flinch. Send it back & we'll get you out a new one (covered the shipping cost too). Way to stand behind your gear. Awesome! Not to mention the thing sounds really killer. First I smashed some drums with it (awesome) then I used it on my 2 mix buss with amazing results (very nice glue). Quality build too, the knobs are solid, the meter is well lite, the push buttons are tight, it looks cool, & it's a very solid piece of gear. Did I mention it sounds KILLER? This piece is a no brainer for any studio. Kudos to Stam Audio! syranlangley

Review By szyam

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

11/9/16 I've recently bought the SA4000 and i can't be more happy. Fantastic unit that is outstanding in drums, in just a few seconds of mixing, i had the best drums sounds i've ever mixed. I've started opening old sessions and printing Drum Busses ,Vocal Busses, and some Pianos, and the impact in the mixes where HUGE. In the mixbuss is really nice too, with a 2:1 ratio, .30ms attack, and just a bit of compression it glues your mix instantly. Once you try it you realize that the plugins emulations are a freaking joke. Nacho M

Review By szyam

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

10/8/16 This recreation of the famous SSL bus comp is amazing. Immediate glue / punch, ranging from subtle to aggressive depending on the attack / release times. Grabs a mix and 'finishes' it in a way that definitely sounds like the original unit. I've been using the side chain input to send a copy of the mix with low end rolled off as a HPF. That preserves the ultra-low end while compressing the rest of the mix neatly. tl;dr: this is permanently strapped on to my mixbuss from now on. Along with the amazing SA-2A, Joshua has hit another home run with the SA-4000. P.S. there's a reason these are going second-hand in GS Classifieds for $1k - they're that good. But I'd suggest just placing an order with Joshua for under $500 rather than spending that kinda dough thejook

Review By szyam

SA4000 MK2 – Analog VCA Stereo Buss Compressor

3/16/16 Today I had the chance to use the new SA-4000 Stereo Bus Compressor from Stam Audio at the studio, I was a bit skeptical in the beginning, even though they did a fantastic job with the LA-2A which I believe is identical to the original Teletronix I had my concerns based on it´s price point. I had about 4 hours to test it so I did what I would normally do with a buss compressor, I ran some drums and mixes through it today and I can honestly say that it surpassed my expectations, the unit sounds absolutely fantastic and feels great. Soundwise it has the glue effect just like the original SSL that we all desire but in a much more musical way than my plugins or TK Audio BC1 compressor. I wish I could have kept this unit at my studio but it has to travel around to other studios and magazines for reviews. I will be selling my TK Audio BC1 and get one of these as soon as they are ready. Well done Stam Audio, again. Javier

Review By szyam